Some people think that governments should provide subsidies to farmers to produce cheap healthy food. Others think that governments should tax companies producing unhealthy foods. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In this day and age, people are more prone to consume junk food rather than salubrious food due to the availability of fast food shops in every nook and cranny, causing many health-related issues. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that imposing a high tax on unhealthy food shops would be beneficial to contain the consumption of fast food, others contend that governments ought to take initiatives in order to produce healthy products at reasonable prices to keep citizens fit as a fiddle. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that by making healthy food available to people at a cheap rate it is possible to divert their mind from harmful foods. Enforcing a high levy on unhealthy restaurants and hotels would eventually discourage people not to consume their food frequently. To be more precise, if governments increase the tax and vat of fast food companies, the prices of food items rise sharply, resulting in decreasing the consumption of those items due to adjusting the cost of living. To cite an example, when Japan increased 20% tax on fast food chain shops in 2000, the number of customers reduced by 30% in the following year. Therefore, with a view to demotivating customers, it is imperative to increase the tax on unhealthy foods. Plausible though it may seem that a high tax rate on unhealthy food items dissuades customers to take those things, governments have got to take strides so as to produce healthy food at nominal rates. This is because if people can find healthy food easily near their hand at a low price they would be more interested to take those foods to improve their health. Hence, in order to give foods at a cheap price, governments should give financial benefits, such as grants, incentives to farmers. To illustrate, in China, all vegetables can be bought at a very low price in that the government has a special budget for framers, resulting in making healthy generations. In essence, much as an excessive tax rate discourages people to eat fast food, never can it provoke them to buy healthy items. Thus, I unequivocally buttress the stand of giving subsidies to farmers to produce healthy foods at a low cost.