Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources.

People have different views on whether creative artists such as painters and musicians should be funded by governments. Some believe that it is important for the government to support these artists financially, while other think that they should receive financial support from other sources. I agree with the former and will discuss both views in the essay. The opponents of funding creative artists through governments argue that there are a variety of funding sources such as companies, local communities, organizations and online music and video streaming, which can provide better funding opportunities to the artists. For example, musicians could earn lots of money by streaming their music online, holding live concerts and selling their songs through entertainment companies. It is true that there are many popular singers who have millions of fans and earn lots of money. In contract, in many countries, scientists are not as popular as musicians and their salaries are also much less than these supper stars. In addition, the money saved by the government can be invested in more vital sectors such as science and technology, and public services such as health and education systems. On the other hand, there are many reasons to support governments’ financial support on creative artists. It is undeniable that art is an important part of our societies. Creative art makes our lives enjoyable, cheerful and colourful. Unfortunately, in many places, art, especially creative art is often under-funded. Although a few of the famous ones may be very rich, many of the musicians and painters are not earning enough to meet their needs and have to work multiple jobs. Lacking financial support from governments means that less and less people will choose artists as their careers. As a result, less beautiful artworks and songs will not be created for us to enjoy. Although alternative sources could be an option, they are usually profit driven, and therefore, are more willing to invest in profitable arts, but not so much on some other types of art, such as traditional music. In conclude, I think it is important for the government to fund creative artists due to the importance of art to our lives and the fact that most of these professionals are under-funded.