Some people think that governments should decide which subjects and lessons should be taught at schools. Others think that schools and teachers should decide. What is your opinion on this issue?

Education plays a vital role in our life. It is thought by many people that the authority must decide about the lessons and the subjects taught by the schools. However, others think that the schools and teachers should be the one in charge. This essay agrees that the government should determine the school curriculum because they have the best idea about the needs of civilian and they can ensure standardization. Firstly, schooling acts as a foundation of the future generation. It is not only shaping their future, but also society’s future. The administration has the best knowledge about the people and their economic need. It is based upon studies, researches and experiences gathered by experts in different fields. For example, in Sudan, the educational program has been changed since 2000 in order to solve the problem of the unemployment in the agricultural sector. More and more practical skills such as farming has been added to tackle the problem. In other words government can better plan and design the structure of the curriculum. Secondly, the authorities’ role is to ensure the best quality of schooling throughout the country. They compare different schools to know their needs of discipline resources in order to reach the aimed level of education. However, it would be difficult to identify those needs if each academy has its own curriculum for its unique requirements. In addition, if institute teachers decide what are the subjects to be covered then we would have a situation of too much variation in standards and qualification, which is obviously unfair, because some young children, for instance, would receive a better education than others as a result of this and in turn people might lose their faith in the education system in the country. Finally, in my opinion, it would be beneficial for the citizens if government are kept to be responsible for the subjects and lessons taught in schools.