Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

There have always been disputes on the topic of exams. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether exams are good way to check student’s knowledge. While there are certain valid arguments to contrary, I personally believe that examinations are necessary to estimate student’s ability. First and foremost, parents and teachers exert on students and pupils to demand from them high marks. In addition students with low scores are compared with students with high scores. As a consequence, many students fall into depression, feel frustration and lose motivation to learn. Also, these students strive to merely get a high score, not knowledge. Furthermore, some get reduced hours of rest and social activities. For example, lack of sleep leads to memory impairment and to problems with health. Hence, the level of their knowledge decreases. On the contrary, exams can help to estimate of knowledge. The examination grades show level of knowledge candidate. It allows the employer to choose the most suitable and capable worker during an interview process. Furthermore they achieve great results by reason of competition for the best exam results. Subsequently, their educational level is increasing. Also, exams results can show students, their knowledge gaps. For example, I was student my teacher tested me and results to indicate me about what themes I forgot. To sum up, the examination is useful method to check level of knowledge and abilities. Nevertheless, schools and colleges should design and conduct exams to minimize student stress.