Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally.

Environmental problems have become a major headache over recent years. It has paved the way for a call to change the environmental problems, such as the well-known Greta Thunberg, challenging world leaders to take immediate action against climate change. While some people argue, it is considered by some that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale, while others believed that it is better to deal with the environmental problems on a national scale. In my opinion, I believe that the severity of environmental problems throughout the world must be solved on a global scale. On the one hand, I agree that nowadays the modern world is faced with similar types of environmental problems, which are related to temperature rise, greenhouse gases, higher sea levels, the impact of non-renewable energy and therefore, it should be solved globally. The presence of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change ensures many countries mobilize climate change following the Paris Agreement. Another reason why environmental problems should be solved globally is the knowledge gap each country has. For example, the knowledge to tackle environmental problems from European and American education is not equally taught from what has been taught in African, Asian, and Oceanian countries. Therefore, the presence of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and Greenpeace bridges the knowledge gap differences of each country by pushing for a better policy to tackle environmental problems such as the Race to Zero Carbon Campaign, representing 471 cities, 23 regions, 1. 675 business, 85 of the biggest investors and 569 universities. It also paved the way for Europeans and Americans to provide similar knowledge of tackling the environmental problems in a more diplomatic way such as Climate Diplomacy and strengthening International relations. To underline the essential of tackling environmental problems, resources and funding problems is also a backlight that needs to put into consideration. Developing countries, mostly from Asia and Africa, is lacking certain resources like finance, technology, and eco-investors may often seek help from other countries which may have tackled or reduced the same environmental problems in their earlier times with advanced equipment, technology, and minds. For example, Indonesia-German central projects on Domestic Resource Mobilization for Sustainable Development followed by Peatland Rehabilitation and Management, ultimately emphasizing the need for global coordination to tackle the environmental problems. On the other hand, it is believed by some that it is better to deal with the environmental problems on a national scale. For example, Indonesia faces the challenges such as the loss of rainforests which may be caused by the government’s policy and locals, yet, the neighboring country of Australia faces the challenge of land degradation, which is mainly caused by over-grazing. Developing countries such as some nations in Asia are prioritizing sustainable population and environment, while industrialized nations such as the United States and China, are more likely concerned about traffic and air pollution in longer terms. Therefore, those nations might plan appropriate resolutions and involved local’s know-how to deal with national environmental problems. Another reason why environmental problems should be solved on a national scale is bureaucracy and policy efficiency. It plays a major role to tackle environmental problems as locally as possible. For example, floods in Jakarta do not entirely need a global scale figure to resolve the problems. Local bureaucracy and policy play a role in this environment problems with their draining pump machine and daily maintenance for rivers across Jakarta. Such efficient streamline between the local bureaucracy and policy does not need many countries to wait, decide, then regulate certain policies just to solve one single problem in one country. Therefore, local’s know-how bureaucracy and policy might just the answer for tackling environmental problems on a national scale. In my opinion, although it may seem efficient in the short-term to solve the environmental problems nationally, in practice, dealing with these problems would be more effective, sustainable, and preferable on a global scale.