Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action.

Environmental issues have sparked off an intense debate on whether individuals or the government can solve the grave problems. Many opine that these problems are enormous for individuals to tackle, yet others opine that governments cannot curb this environmental chaos without individuals’ effort. In the case, I put forward the notion that a holistic approach is needed so as to fight the environmental damages. Environmental issues cannot be solved by individuals alone because the overwhelming number of environmental hazards we face, including greenhouse effects, mass extinction of species, water pollution, soil erosion, global warming and others, are the consequences of the global revolution of industrialization and our greedy behaviours for a luxurious lifestyle. Therefore, handling environmental issues is far beyond the scope of individual effort. To curb it, we need strict laws in place and massive budgets which is out of the scope of individuals. On the contrary, the government alone cannot solve the planet’s biggest issue. In simple words, individuals should avoid cars whenever possible, use energy-efficient home appliances, reduce the use of plastics and plant trees. Only then the government’s will be able to harness the catastrophic effect of environmental damage. However, in my opinion, environmental problems have multifarious dimensions and can be addressed by adopting holistically all kinds of stakeholders such as governments, individuals, international communities, civil societies and activists. This is because the problem is actually a global phenomenon and without collaborative efforts, there is no effective solution to it. In conclusion, individuals or the government alone cannot combat the environmental crisis as it is an international issue. Therefore, mass people, governments and international organizations have their own role to play in order to grapple with the environmental issues.