SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT CERTAIN PRISONERS SHOULD BE MADE TO DO UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE INSTEAD OF BEING PUT BEHIND BARS. EXTENT OF AGREEMENT.

Crimes in many countries have gone beyond the tolerable rate and it is a common practice for the law and order authority of those countries to put the perpetrators of the crimes behind bars. Some people hold the opinion that all crimes are not the same and therefore should not be punished in a grave manner. I too hold the same opinion that certain crimes can be punished by means of community service and volunteering work. Crimes that are petty or minor in nature can hold a punishment of community service for a certain number of hours especially if the prepetrator is a juvenile or he/she is a first time offender. I believe that most of the perpetrators of petty crimes such as minor thefts of foods and essentials, piracy, and so on are not born as criminals but are often pushed by the circumstances in their life and punishing them harshly would only make it worse. Take an instance, when these perpetrators are released after completing their punishment in prison, they would not be easily be accepted in the society. They would struggle to find a job, gel well with the society and eventually start living a life of an outlaw. Whereas, if they are given a punishment of community service, this would help them to understand the society better, remedy their behaviour and start fresh as a reformed individual. Heinous crimes such as Premeditated murder, abduction, extortion, drug dealing, rape and so on should be punished harshly. The perpetrators of such heinous crimes should not be spared any mercy and should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law. This needs to be done in order to set an example to the society and prevent any individual from committing these kinds of crimes in the future by showing what awaits them in the court of law once they are caught. I feel that any individuals who are capable of committing such crimes cannot be remedied using community service and also they posses a serious threat to the society once they are released after completing their punishment. To conclude, yes, certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community service as their punishment and not be put behind bars, but this decision needs to be taken after doing a thorough and an extensive investigation on the nature of the crime and the motive behind committing the same.