Some people think that cars should be banned in large city centres.

There is an argument that cars shouldn’t be allowed entry into the centres of big cities. I agree with this opinion, primarily because there would be significant improvements in air quality, and additionally, the safety of pedestrians in busy urban centres would be greatly improved. The main benefit of prohibiting cars from city centres is the positive effect on the air quality. Since cars produce CO2 and other harmful pollutants, a reduction in their numbers would reduce the amount of these fumes and therefore make the air cleaner and less toxic. Safe air quality has been proven to be crucial for the health and wellbeing of local workers and residents. Studies have also shown that people who live in highly-polluted areas have much shorter life expectancies than those in clean environments. Furthermore, an area that is pedestrianised will be much safer. Simply put, if there are fewer cars, then it is much less likely that accidents involving cars and pedestrians will occur. For example, in Paris, cars are banned from the city centre every Sunday, and hospitals have observed a dramatic reduction in traffic-related injuries on this day as a result. Especially early in the mornings, tired commuters in cars can make mistakes which put pedestrian lives in danger, further proving why an outright ban on cars would make city centres much safer. To sum up, even though this measure could be an inconvenience to some, I believe the benefits of improved air quality and increased safety in cities are worth the effort in order to better the quality of life for those who work and live in city centres.