Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

There is one thing which can seen everywhere, crime - it may be low intensity crime or Heinous crime. Some proportion of masses opine that best way to handle this is to send criminals in prison for long time, ; others opine that other alternative ways decline crime more efficiently. Watch the arguments need scrutiny before forming an opinion. Long prison sentences are the best way to teach offenders. Firstly, those who are thinking about committing crimes, this well act as lesson for them. For example, sending home Fernandez in the jail for long period for small crimes than others think twice before committing any crime. Apart from this, if criminals are sending to the jail for long time, there are better opportunity to re-educate them. However, crime should be eliminated from the society not the criminals. First of all the character of criminal will not improve, because the mix with other criminals. Therefore rather than sending them for longer sentences, the focus should be on developing good alternatives. Hence, it may improve their character. In my opinion, it is important to focus on alternative methods but it should be restricted to hardcore criminals and heinous crimes. In conclusion, there are arguments not only in the favour for long prison sentences but also in against the same.