Some People Think That Art Is An Essential Subject For Children At School While Others Think It Is A Waste Of Time

There is no doubt that art education can play a vital role in the overall development of a child. Although some believe that including this including art in their curriculum is not worth their time, I would argue that it is a necessary subject that enhances their learning experience. On the one hand, those who believe studying art is time consuming and worthless might argue that it does not lead to a successful career. This is because many artists struggle to make a living. For instance, a painter may have trouble selling a single piece of his art. By contrast, if the same time is utilized for learning other more important subjects such as science or business at school, it is likely that it will result in a fruitful profession like medicine, engineering, law or architecture. On the other hand, my view is that it is very important to teach art at this stage because it imparts different life skills. The reason for this is that by practicing arts children can develop skills like patience, improved motor ability, better hand-eye co-ordination, creativity and many more. By completing a project and observing the rewards of hard work they build perseverance and unique way of thinking abilities, for example. Hence, if these skills are not taught at school, it may hinder the overall development of children. In conclusion, while it is true that teaching art at school may seem to be a worthless and time consuming pursuit, it is my firm belief that the time spent on it will definitely foster life skills crucial for success in future.