Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that strict punishments are the most effective method of increasing road safety while others believe that other measures should be applied. In my view, both punishments and a range of other measures can be used together to promote better driving habits. First of all, strict punishments can certainly help to encourage people to drive more safely. As human beings we should learn from our own mistakes this being the main reason a penalty should be applied. There are various types of driving penalty, such as small fines, license suspension, and even prison sentences. As a result, we would hope that drivers become more disciplined and alert, and that they follow the rules more carefully. On the other hand, I believe that safe driving can be promoted in several different ways that do not punish drivers. Firstly, it is vitally important to educate people properly before they start to drive, and this could be done in schools or even as part of an extended or more difficult driving test. Secondly, more attention could be paid to safe road design. For example, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic, and speed cameras can help to deter people from driving too quickly. Finally, governments or local councils could reduce road accidents by investing in better public transport, which would mean that fewer people would need to travel by car. In conclusion, while punishments can help to prevent bad driving, I believe that other road safety measures should also be introduced.