Tv viewing is good for children. Do you agree or disagree?

Television is an electronic device, which has become an integral part of our society. While some people believe that it is an important source of information, others think that viewing tv for a child is waste of time. In my opinion, although it has several advantages in a children's life, yet we cannot ignore its adverse effects. Tv broadcasts different educational channels which covers subjects like arts, history, science and geography. This content not only improves their general knowledge but also makes them curious about this information. Moreover, the sound and colourful contents of tv programs such as Cartoon Networks, Disney Clubs, keeps them engaged for several hours. These entertainment cannels enhance their creativity and improve their cognition skills. Finally, news channels update their knowledge and help them to be informed about current affairs. However, tv shows are educational, but long exposure time affects on brain activity and development of the younger people. As the content is extremely addictive and keep them passively engaged for several hours and leads to lack of sleep and behavioural issues. Secondly, too much screen time prevents them to be involved in physical activities. Lack of exercise causes several health problems such as obesity. To overcome above drawbacks, parents should take initiative and make stricter rules to control screen exposure of their offspring. They should also educate them about the value of sports and games and encourage them to participate in outdoor activities. As a result, teenagers would be able to find their inherited hobby and inspire to be a healthy human being. In conclusion, although there are huge number of pros and cons, but precautions and close supervision of parents can make tv viewing a wonderful and rewarding experience