Some people think that an international car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution.

Feasible solutions to air pollution have been a highly debated topic recently. Some people argue that international car-free days are plausible in mitigating air pollution. I refute the efficiency of this method. I strongly believe that there are more effective methods of tackling this environmental issue. It is an obvious fallacy to consider encouraging people around the world to halt using cars through intermittent car-free events as a viable method to deal with air pollution. Types of bandwagon are usually deemed having no practical values among those for whom private transport is the only choice. To exemplify, for some people, cars are the only means. If this measure is introduced, it will cause problems for them because they feel deprived of their privacy and difficult for them to ride in traffic. Furthermore, not just gas emissions are released from cars. Untreated toxic fumes from factories can also exacerbate air quality. Therefore, addressing one cause of the problem should be an ineffective approach. To have the best solutions, I would like to suggest two other measures which would more effectively impede air contamination. Firstly, we need to find some ways to reduce the massive amount of exhaust fumes emitted by factories. If such attempts are worldwide successful, emissions from major industrial areas would be substantially restricted, resulting in a gradual decrease in the level of pollutants in the air. the advanced technology of production could be applied to this problem. Secondly, the government should improve the quality of the public transportation system. A goal to encourage citizens to commute by public transports instead of private vehicles needs to be thoroughly applied to get the best solution. Such a practical remedy, not sporadic events could feasibly lead to a sustainable change towards eco-friendly behavior and habits - stepping stones to resolve any pollution type. In conclusion, I have a strong belief that various long-term measures could considerably contribute to the resolution of air pollution rather than occasional and symbolic international car-free days.