Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

While a number of people believe that it is better to allow youngsters to choose what subjects they want to study, others think that students should take only applicable majors, like IT, construction, math. I claim, that students should be nudged to enroll only in useful programs. On the one hand, numerous people argue that different individuals have different inclinations, therefore everyone ought to learn what they are good at. As a consequences, young men and women do not have any particular skills, hence plenty universities allow students take any classes they want. For example, about 60% of graduates do not find a job according their major, therefore they have to attend special cources to receive new profession. Students usually take variety of different subjects and, as a result, have only superficial knowledge instead hard skills. On the other hand, the more people major in subjects that are necessary for economy, the higher we may expect the growth of wealth. Companies would never have the shortage of workforce and can expand their production without limitation. To exemplify, IT sector, wich is the most important industry in the United States, demands more programmers, software developers, technology specialists for further expansion. However, many American graduates majored in history or literature, and cannot find a job. In conclusion, opinions diverge on whether to allow students decide what to study by themselves, or influence on their choise in order to fill a gap in workforce. I think that it is better to encourage students to take subjects that is important for economy, so that they can easily find work.