Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects which will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is sometimes argued that subjects in university curriculum should be based on the students’ choices while others think that the list of subjects should be restricted only with science and technology. I completely agree with the former argument due to the right of every student to choose what they want and the importance of other fields, such as law and history. On the one hand, some people believe that there are several benefits of studying science and technology, such as maths, physics, information technologies. In other words, we may come across those technologies in every aspect of our daily lives. One of the advantages of those subjects related to science and technology can be the existence of more opportunities and jobs for university graduates. It means that university graduates who studied these subjects may easily be employed. Nowadays, most companies are hiring employees who have digital skills, meaning that if someone doesn't have such skills, they will highly likely be made redundant. Therefore, making useful subjects compulsory for all university students may offer more opportunities to the students when they graduate. On the other hand, I believe that universities should give the opportunity to students to select the list of subjects which they want to study. One reason for this can be the right of every student to choose their own subjects. This is because they usually pay tuition fees to universities for their education, and they may already have enough knowledge to decide what to study. In that case forcing them to learn such subjects that they dislike can be considered the violation of their rights to education. The other reason is that only studying subjects relating to science and technology may lead students to limiting their creativity. By this I mean that universities should also consider social science, such as law, history, literature and psychology which can motivate students to be creative. In conclusion, although studying technology-related subjects can benefit to the university students in their further lives, it seems to me that making such subjects obligatory for all university students may violate their rights to education and restrict their creativity