Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Courses in Science and Technology are all promising and will undoubtedly will be useful in the future. We may think that studying program related to Science and Technology has more advantages, I strongly agree that we should allow students to choose whatever courses they like to take. We are all unique, and we have various academic strength and not all are superior in Science and Technology. Some students may be progressing in Science however, others maybe more outstanding in Arts or Language therefore, forcing students who are weak in this program may cause failure or demotivate them. Students who took up courses related to Arts does not generally mean he or she will not be suitable in the future. In fact, artistic ability or being creative is crucial in innovation. We have various facets in life and Science and Technology is merely one of them. If we want the new generation to be prepared for the future they should be ready for different aspect of it. Imagine, we are all trained in Science and Technology but a very weak communicator. We are not able to convey what we have learned and may not even able to apply it. I therefore conclude that, there are various aspects of life that we need to study not just Science and Technology. We should allow university students to take up course that they are interested in to be a be better contributor in our society.