Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

As per the recent trends, competition is growing at a significant pace in almost every age group. While some people believe that children should be encouraged to compete with others, others think that they, who are learned to co-operate with others, rather than competing, tend to become more useful adults at a later stage. This essay will try to put light on both these viewpoints but I am a firm believer in the fact that in order to become a more useful citizen, parents should infuse the sense of co-operation among them, which in turn helps them to become a valuable member in the society. One set of people think that competition is inevitable in society nowadays and thus, their young ones should get their hands dirty as soon as possible by competing among their peer groups. They feel that healthy competition infuses a sense of improvement among them in various fields, which is somewhat logical, however, a recent study from Harvard shows that this not only incorporates the emotion of jealousy but it also leads to disappointment and ultimately, depression. Overall, they think that it should be introduced to their children as early as possible so that they should be ready to tackle the fast-paced world. Others have the opinion that competing with others is not effective in the sense that it obstructs their children to learn co-operation in the society. Furthermore, to become more useful adults, this skill is mandatory rather than being in the ring every time. The logic behind this statement is that children should have empathy in order to help others which can only be developed if they think beyond fighting and competing. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford among children of age groups 5-15 showed that they, who focused less on competing, showed a great deal of empathy and in turn, achieved greater heights in the future. Thus, helping each other in tough times is worthwhile to have in today's cut-throat competition era. In Conclusion, children should be taught to become valuable to their surroundings which can only happen if we focus more on helping others rather than in the mode of bringing others down in one way or another.