Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

One of the debatable topic is maintenance of zoos. Most of the people agree to the fact that zoos are redundant and hold no purpose, therefore should be shutdown. This essay will discuss on the issues zoos bring which are mainly cost of maintenance and inhuman nature to keep the animals caged. If the zoos are to be ceased, this essay will also suggest about the choices we have including learning about animals in safari or watching them on television. Firstly, the price needed to keep up the zoo is a costly affair. The amount needed to maintain the zoo is mainly procured from tax payers money which can otherwise be put to better use like maintaining greenery in the city. Secondly, holding animals in captivity is a barbaric act and, moreover, in case of mishap like floods then the animals are generally ignored and it would lead to massacre. For instance, we can find numerous examples of sick and starving animals over the internet. In summary, these reasons showcases the complications zoos bring in. Zoos are primarily used to learn about animal kingdom, however, people can learn about animals while they roam freely in their natural habitat. This is possible via safaris or television programs. Even though safari is a costly business, people can understand the true nature of animals in their own territory. With the advent of technolgy, televison channels are using advanced cameras and one can enjoy the show at the luxury of their own house. Therefore, it is evident that the alternatives are much more benefical. To conclude, zoos are not much useful in the present day situation. This essay discussed the negative effects of the zoo which include cost of maintenance and inhuman nature of keeping the animals caged. This essay also suggested the alternatives to the problem if the zoos are shut which are twofold: observing animals in their own domain or relying on television shows.