Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Today debates about whether children should be taught to compete or cooperate in life is a hot potato. I strongly believe that both competition and cooperation are vital, furthermore, I think that the most essential thing children should learn is when they need to compete and when cooperated. On the one hand, competition is a vital skill in life. Children ought to compete to excel in studies or win a sport competition. This will be useful in adult life. For example, if people want a promotion or make their business more profitable, they need to compete with colleagues or businessmen to achieve their goal. However, at the same time to be successful in a career or business a person also should cooperate with co-workers or subordinates. On the other hand, there is a number of fields where cooperation is necessary to succeed: team sports such as football or hockey, group assignments at school/university and teamwork on complex projects at work. For instance, during tests or experiments based on scientific research scientists need to work as a team to contribute to society as it was for creating a vaccine against COVID-19. In addition, children are sometimes allowed to cooperate and compete simultaneously: team sport games where kids are going to cooperate with members of their team to compete with another team or in the future they could work in company and cooperate with co-workers to beat competitors. The world today demands to be competitive and cooperative at the same time, which means that competition and cooperation go hand in hand. To sum up children should learn both, how to compete and cooperate with others, and more importantly, they must know where and when in life they ought to apply these.