Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

It's no doubt that the science of food is an important subject to students, it can teach students about the nutrition of different foods, how packaged foods on the market are made, and even the concept of food hygiene. These knowledge can let students understand more about food, and by learning this subject, they will care more about food safety, cause less food poisoning accident happen. However, other subjects are also important, subjects such as language, biology, chemistry, physics, economics, etc. These subjects can also let students to learn more about related knowledge and understand the world comprehensively. For instants, by learning multiple languages, students can now not only talk to people who speak English, they can also talk to people who speak other languages. For my opinion, I suggest students should put more time on studying important subjects, not only focusing on one subject. Although for sure the science of food is really important to students, they should spend their school time equally on each subject, as other subjects are important too. It doesn't mean that students should not spend any time on studying the science of food. It's still an useful subject for them. It means students should spend extra time on it, and spending average amount of time on it is enough, just like other subjects. Moreover, students will choose their major study in the university. From my knowledge, students can choose the science of food as their major study, which means, they can fully focusing on this subject during their university study if they want to. And they don't need to spend extra more time on learning this subject before their university period.