In some countries the elderly is put into nursing homes rather than being taken care of by their family. Do you see this as a positive or a negative development?

Recently, in some nations, people prefer to put their elderly relatives into nursing houses than dividing task between siblings or even grandchildren to take care of this aged person. Personally, I see this as a beneficial situation for the person who is being taken care of and in this essay, I will discuss some pros and cons regarding this topic. To begin with, even though it is not an easy decision for the family, there are positive outcomes for aged person in this specialised place. To explain, nursing homes are a better infrastructure than a regular person’s house. Over there, there are certain equipment that a regular person’s house certainly would not have. Thus, they are more efficient and rapid regards health assistance if something might occur. Additionally, there are professionals working there full-time to help in any matter the elderly may need. This house is a positive solution to provide professional support to the family. Deepen into this regard, some families use nursing home as a solution to get rid of their old relatives and barely visit them. This is a frequent behaviour of some, unfortunately, and describes perfectly a downside. Families must constantly visit their relatives to surveil the treatment they are receiving, because despite the professionalism expected, they might misconduct with certain situations. Another important point is that a professional does not place a relative, and that is why the family cannot let the loneliness feeling dominate who is living in nursing homes. They need to be present due to preserve a good relationship with their parents or grandparents. In conclusion, with the ageing society, some families opt to put their old relatives into nursing homes instead of taken care by themselves. I see positive consequences, because not only they will be assisted by professionals, but also their relationship with their family will improve.