Today, people do not always work for the same job. Why does it happen and how do people prepare for job insecurity?

In this rapidly changing world, it is no longer realistic to expect to have a permanent job. People should take action to cope with the challenges of job insecurity, whether they decide to change their jobs or are dismissed by their employers. There are so many unpredictable factors in the world of work that employers have to downsize the workforce. For example, in the terms of economic recession, companies have to lay off some employees in order to reduce the running cost, which means that a large number of people will lose their jobs. Technology has been developing so fast that many people have failed to upgrade their skills to meet the requirements of their employers. Some of them may lose employment, for example, for the simple reason that they do not have the knowledge about the newest generation of software and cannot keep pace with the changes in the workplace. Another reason why few people expect to stay in the same job for a lifetime is that they are interested in a varied career. They work for different companies in order to discover their own talents and fulfil their potential. While some prefer to work for large companies, where they can improve skills and increase earnings, some may choose to work for start-ups, in which they are trusted with more responsibilities. Because of uncertainty about job prospects, working adults have to pay attention to two major issues. They should sharpen their skills and receive education to ensure that they can adapt to an ever-changing world. One example is the popularity of attending courses to acquire a second language because many companies operate in a globalised world. In addition to this, they should save money to cope with all financial matters arising from unemployment. With sufficient savings, they can even run their own businesses, if they fail to find employment. To summarise, the turbulent environment and the unstoppable technological progress have accounted for the unpredictability of the job market. Solutions to these problems include job training and sound financial planning.