Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

There has been much controversy around the importance of studying food science and cooking. While some insist that students should place more emphasis on their key subjects, I would argue that culinary courses should take up a small part in the curriculum. On the one hand, the core disciplines standard at most schools are imperative for one’s future career. Because core curricula give students basic knowledge in many areas, graduates will have more tools to understand the complicated world around them. This knowledge can also pave the way for students to land a good job and make it easier for them to transit into a professional environment. For example, logical thinking acquired during math lessons and critical thinking fostered by literature will make for a confident individual, up for a challenge, able to problem solve, and ultimately able to make informed choices about their future. On the other hand, a solid understanding of food and cooking will benefit people immensely in many aspects. Firstly, scientific knowledge about food encourages students to take a health-conscious approach to their diet. Students can see the value of healthy eating habits and know which foods are detrimental to their physical health. Therefore, they are more likely to adopt a balanced diet to their dietary patterns rather than consuming junk food. Furthermore, equipping young people with the foundational knowledge of food science will build up their self-reliance and enable them to lead independent lives. Armed with a knowledge of food science, people will more capable of adjusting to living on their own because they can prepare nutritious home-made food without relying on readily available dished or processed food at convenience stores. In conclusion, I believe imparting knowledge of nutrition and food preparation is of paramount significance in leading a healthy and independent lifestyle. Thus, courses about food should be added to the school curriculum.