Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

The selection of subjects in order to teach at school has, for quite sometimes, become a matter of controversies among not only educators but also parents. Nowadays, while several people support the idea that only subjects that can be considered as vital for pupils should appear in the curriculum, numerous other, including me, believe that student should also learn about the science of food and prepare meals. Then, both these aforementioned statements will be addressed in this essay. To initiate, there are certain explanations to emphasize studying important subjects. One fundamental justification is that these subjects have an unparalleled necessity in passing academic examinations, thereby having a well-paid occupation in the future. It does not seem unreasonable to claim that the majority of tests for accessing higher education are designed to be focused on a limited range of subjects. By the way of exemplifying, the entry test to university in many Asian countries tend to focus on merely 9 academic subjects categorized into the Social Science and Natural Science. Therefore, spending school time on these subjects allegedly has more advantageous impacts on the future of students. Nevertheless, from my perspective, the merits of learning about the science of food as well as preparing a proper meal should not be underestimated. The first and foremost reason is that this makes a great contribution to the future life of students. Although studying the science of victual does not help pupils to pass the test, it can offer them the ability to take care of themselves through healthy and nutritious diets which is unquestionably important when they turned into adults. Furthermore, opponents may argue that subjects like the science of food can be taught as an extra-curriculum class. Then, they seem to ignore the fact that not every parent can afford this special class and establish cookery in the syllabus can provide more children with the opportunity to learn about it. In conclusion, despite the fact that some classes may very important in order to pass the tests, learning to prepare a proper meal should be taught at school since it provides children with a vital ability to take care of themselves.