Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today, learning about the news from different parts of the world is essential to many people. Some people, including me, believe that the review of such news should become a high school subject although some think this would waste school time. Reviewing global news can help high school students improve their general knowledge in areas like geography and cultures. The news come from around the world and often present significant details about different regions and their features, which allows the students to gain a better understanding of the world. Studying the news can also develop the students’ ability to analyse sophisticated situations because, when they follow a story, say, about a political rift between two countries, they can observe how it develops or escalates, how the parties involved act and what its consequences are. There are, however, some issues with studying global news in high schools. The violence portrayed in many of today’s news stories could affect students’ conduct and make them feel the world is an unsafe place to live in. Furthermore, reading and analysing the news would probably be a time-consuming activity, leaving insufficient time for more important subjects and activities like sciences, math or physical education. Nevertheless, school authorities can censor the news studied in classes to remove any violent themes, reducing their volume as well. In conclusion, I believe it is wise for secondary school students to study global news at school to develop their general knowledge and ability to understand the world. Any drawbacks can be avoided through proper monitoring and censorship of the news stories.