Some people think public libraries are necessary while others think they are waste of money.

Public libraries are home of knowledge and accessible to all citizens of the society at a very nominal cost. Generally, the upkeep and maintenance of the library is in the hand of the local municipal government and it is funded through public taxes. Like any other issue where government and public money is involved, the topic whether public libraries are necessary or waste of time also generates polarised opinions in the public. On one hand there are those who tout the benefits of the libraries to the public and on the other hand there are those who can only see the libraries as government wasting away public money. Public libraries have many benefit to the society and especially to the poor and marginalised. In this system, since the funding for the library is provided through the public taxes, everyone contributes and therefore the cost to individual for access to books and other education material goes down. In a library, one can have access to thousands of books without cost and use them to improve one’s skills and knowledge. And it is common knowledge that one rarely forgets which one reads because his/her own interest. In fact, the great American founding father Benjamin Franklin believed that public libraries could improve the citizenry at large and started the first subscription library in America. He himself attributed his success to the books which he read on his own and used them for self-improvement. In fact, many people today believe that one does not need to attend college/university if one can read books and apply the principles in real life. Autodidacts like Elon Musk are the stars of the modern success stories and they credit their success to the books which they read in libraries. Another reason why I think libraries are useful is because they provide students or members of society with a place to sit down and read or do their work in a quiet environment. This may not be a big deal for someone who studies in private school or has a caring family but it can mean a world of difference for someone living in a dysfunctional family. Like with anything which involves government spending, public libraries also face scrutiny from conservative members of the society. However, it is to be noted that their argument that libraries are useless and should be closed is without foundation. Having said that, there are things which can be improved in the public library system. For example, libraries can try to solicit more donations of books, reducing the cost. Or they can try to collect the fines more aggressively. Another way or reducing the cost would be to have minimal staff present or automating some of the renewal or return processes for the borrowed material. Additional savings can be made by soliciting volunteers to work at the library desks instead of the paid staff. I think the people who say that libraries are waste of money overstate the case. There are however opportunities for being creative and reduce the cost in the libraries – as mentioned above. So in my opinion, people who think libraries are useless and should be closed need to understand the situation from other point of view. In my opinion public libraries are an important pillar of society and provide access to the poor and rich alike. Although it can be said that it partially helps out the poor a little bit more. I have personally made use of the public library myself and continue to do so on a need to basis. I am very satisfied with the public library system because I would not want to pay for every book I get access to in the library. Also, having access to so much learning material has helped me explore different subjects and find out which one’s interest me. Therefore, my conclusion is this: while there is room for improvement in the public library system I don’t think its a waste of money.