Some people think products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and express your opinion

Few individuals believe that goods must be made as durable as possible, while others believe keeping the product prices low is more important. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I think making durable products is more beneficial than making it inexpensive. On one hand, people prefer durability because the products that are made to last long are generally safe. This is due to the better manufacturing standards followed. Safety of people cannot be compromised as any failure of a product might result in loss of lives. For instance, United Flight 32 of the Malaysian airlines crashed because of a cracked engine blade that was made with a low grade material to keep the cost of the assembly less. To avoid such catastrophes, highest priority should be given to the durability of products. Low priced product, on the other hand, are easier to purchase and more people can benefit from it. For instance, Tata Nano-the world’s cheapest car-priced at just $1000 allowed many people belonging to the lower income group to enjoy the luxury of a four-wheeler. Many other examples such as cheap cell phones manufactured in china also help people to be more up to date with the latest technology and trends. In my opinion, durability must be given prime importance. This is because humans are always surrounded by goods, especially electronics or engineering components such as mobile phones, home-appliances, cars and much more. Although, the cost of product sees an upward trend due to an increase in durability, it this must not be a reason to compromise on the customer’s safety as failures of such products can be life threatening. In conclusion, I reaffirm that making long lasting components that are safe is far more important than making products that are cheap and easy to buy.