Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

While a majority of people agree that having friends with the same view points is beneficial, whereas, others tend to believe that it is favourable to have friends whose opinion does not match with theirs. This essay will discuss both these points in detail and then I will propose my perspective. There are merits of having friends with whom one can easily agree with, as two individuals tend to become friends only when they share any common interests such as having similar political views, or the fondness of pursuing any activities like playing sports or watching movies. With the same viewpoints they enjoy each other’s company and that leads to the formation of a stronger bond between them. To exemplify, two friends who love to travel and explore new places will plan to go on an excursion trip together and even do adventurous activities altogether such as rock climbing, tracking or rafting. As a result, their agreements to a particular point will also be the same and will lead to the growth of their friendship. However, few people find it suitable to have friends with varied opinions, as within a group, people then get to understand broader views for a particular topic, which will not be possible in a group where people share a common agreement. This is where an individual can get acquainted with the other part of the story as well, which he/she might not have realized beforehand. Taking the political discussions for instance, there could be two friends who may support two different leaders but, resulting in that they will appreciate the ideology of the other leader as well. Thus, both of them will get a wider understanding of each other’s leaders instead of creating any arguments or conflicts in their friendship. In conclusion, I believe that it is better to have friends of the same opinion, in comparison, to the ones with distinct views, as having them with similar interests inculcates the bond and even flourishes their friendship to a next level.