Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A persons’ character and personality can always be defined by the company he keeps. Friends are the cornerstone in one’s day to day life who impact our thinking and actions in ways which is extremely difficult to quantify. While some people believe that one should choose friends with similar mindset and opinions, others think that friends should also disagree with them. This essay will discuss both views and explain why it is important to have friends who don’t agree with you always and challenge you to grow further in life. Since time immemorial, man has tried searching for company having same beliefs, thoughts and motivation. The primary reason for this was to form a community without any conflict of interest, so that everyone within that group is able to work towards a common goal which is mutually beneficial for every individual who is part of that group. This also enabled a safe space where everyone was able to share their ideas and practices without being opposed or put down. A great example is a society of scientists formed in 1906, trying to prove that Earth resides at the centre of universe who went a long way trying to prove their theory. But having a set of friends with similar opinions as yours, may not always give you the right picture of what is actually happening around you. Although disagreements and difference of opinions are an inception point for arguments, its very beneficial to people who are willing to take criticism in a positive manner. Having friends who challenge your thoughts help you see those missing perspectives which wouldn’t have come to your mind in a normal setting. These experiences help you learn in life and also help you understand that growth only comes when you are able to consider the 360 degree impact of your actions on people around you. Elon Musk, one of the greatest inventor ever, always says that surround yourself with people who never agree with you and think about what they say, you are surely moving in the right direction if they are opposing you. In conclusion, I would like to say that you are not always in control of the friends that you have but it’s critical that you give your best to surround yourself with people who will guide and push you forward to become a better version of yourself. To do that it’s mandatory that you take in all the experiences and build on them constructively, and if you have friends who can call out your mistakes at the right time, give your feedback, I believe half of the job is done. What remains is how you take in the criticism and finish the work which you had planned at the very begining.