Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising of traffic jams and air pollution can be effectively controlled by hiking the cost of petroleum. Will the inflation prove to be the most preferable solution of these issues? This essay will argue why some other measures such as encouraging the use of public transportation and plantation of more number of trees are the better methods than increase in prices of petrol. Firstly, the rise in the fuel prices will not bring any drastic change to tackle these issues. A plethora of population can afford the pricey petroleum then also. Private vehicle owners may continue to use their own automobiles for traveling. As a result, the traffic congestion on roads as well as air pollution will be increased. In contrast, if the people would be encouraged by the higher authorities to adopt public transport, then the number of personal carriers can be reduced. This will ultimately decrease the possible causes of concern. For instance, launching of a large number of trains in Japan has significantly diminished the trouble of traffic and pollution. In addition, individuals should be motivated to grow a huge amount of plants. Since, the plants produce Oxygen and inhale Carbon dioxide, therefore, itt is not difficult to curb this problem of air pollution. For example, National Tree Day is celebrated in many countries where individuals and groups are motivated to plant the trees voluntarily. To conclude, inspiring the utilisation of local transport and growth of excessive quantity of green plants should be the appropriate resolution for lowering the traffic congestion and air pollution. Hence, uplifting the prices of petrol is not a good solution to curb the above mentioned problems.