Some people think it is good to raise children in a city. Others argue that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside.

Living in the countryside gains popularity among some parents due to an unpolluted and tranquil environment. While others prefer to bring up kids in a city considering such issues as educational resources and career development. I am generally in favour of the former one on the basis that the environment free from pollution and noises plays a significant role in one's grow-up. To begin with, the educational development in metropolitan areas has witnessed a great leap over the years. For example, experienced professors and diversified courses in some international institutions undoubtedly make great contributions to students' academic performance, which cannot be matched by rural areas. Besides, children living in cities benefit a lot from technological advancement. They can get a wide range of information through the Internet and catch more job opportunities. However, the air quality and excessive stress originated from competitivity seems disadvantageous for their physical as well as mental health. As for their rural counterparts, these worries are eliminated to a large degree. Blue skies and fresh air allow children to be more exposed to natural beauty. They can play in the open at ease without fretting about security problems and the heavy smog, which also facilitates the development of people's creativity. Through participating in some sorts of farm work, they will build more appreciation and respect for others' hard work. If they need to take care of animals, they will develop a more caring and tolerant for all creatures in the universe. Although they may live less abundantly in terms of material needs. To sum up, I personally prefer to raise kids in the country. Compared with desires for being successful in one's career, a healthy body and inner happiness should be regarded as the priority during one's childhood.