Some people think getting old is all bad, while others think the life of elderly people in modern world is better than that in the past.

As globalization increases along with the population boom, life in large cities has become increasingly challenging. All aspects of life are affected by the huge amount of people residing in metropolitan areas. People are often faced with crippling traffic, horrible air pollution, over-inflated housing amongst many other problems. In my opinion, to ease the burden on overpopulated urban cities, life in regional towns should be encouraged by governments. Big cities are often appealing for their extravagant social scene and thriving employment opportunities. While many migrate there, soon an overpopulation problem emerges resulting in a vast array of problems. Firstly, as the large numbers of vehicles increase, the roads soon come to a halt, with traffic locking the city down. This makes commuting increasingly difficult, as long hours of the day are spent traveling to and from destinations. Furthermore, an increase in cars also brings with it the smog of smoke, horribly polluting the fresh air. This can have detrimental effects on the health of pedestrians, with many people suffering from asthma and problems with vision. As an increased amount of people need a place to stay, a huge increase in competition is seen in housing, greatly driving up rent and house prices. As a result, the overall cost of living in large cities is often significantly higher than regional towns, resulting in many people struggling to make ends meet. I believe governments should encourage life in regional towns. People often move to big cities for employment, education and increased social activities. These investments should be made in regional zones. If smaller towns had the employment, education and transport opportunities similar to those found in urban cities, people would not need or want to relocate as these towns would cater to their requirements. Moreover, these investments would also ease the troubles of the metropolitan areas. With their population decreasing, some of the troubles of everyday life could be reduced significantly.