Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

Health is the fundamental right of every human being. Some people argue that every nation should atleast provide basic health care for free. I agree with this view. By investing in the public health, governments can ensure that even most disadvantaged section of people can get medical care and treatment. Although their number can vary from country to country, the truth is that there are poor people in all the countries. A free public health care system is essential to cater their healthcare needs. If the government runs health care and hospitals where it provides free healthcare and information for free everyone will be able to live healthy all life. Since health is wealth it is wise to spend money on public health care in any country. Healthy people are more productive and contribute to the development of the country. Also by providing free health care to public, the government can prevent epidemic from spreading. This is crucial for normal functioning of any country. Of course governments can provide advanced and special health care for free. Such treatments are highly expensive and even if governments decides to fund on them it would be a burden on the public exchequer. Hence, depending on the financial situation of the country only the poorest people be given free health care treatment and charge a nominal or affordable fee from the rest of the population. Also, it should be remembered that a lot of expensive health care interventions can be avoided if they are diagnosed and treated in the initial stages of the disease. For example, in the initial stages diabetes is not expensive treatment to treat and basic health care is sufficient. However if it is not treated or diagnosed in the initial stages it can lead to cardiac arrest and retinal failure which requires expensive surgeries. In other words by providing free health care government can prevent many health complications from arising. To conclude, the biggest wealth of any nation is its people and hence investing in their health by offering free basic health care is always important for government. Depending on the health care budgets the nation can decide what health care can be provided for free. In any case, the basic health care must be free.