Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

In this day and age, punishing lawbreakers is an intricate situation for the government officials because few people believe imprisonment for several years is, undoubtedly, a draconian punishment and suggest serving free of cost jobs, in society. The following paragraphs will provide further elucidation and reach a reasonable conclusion. The most prominent and undeniable benefit will be economical for the government if they allow these prisoners to assist in volunteer jobs. Grass cutting or planting trees could be an ideal example in this scenario because the government will have unpaid workers for these petty jobs and consequently the tax money could be saved and invested somewhere else. Apart from that, keeping lawbreaker busy in various activities which will be beneficial for them as well otherwise their destructive thoughts can be detrimental and probably planned to be implemented when free from jail. For instance, if a prisoner has completed a qualification or skilled in an occupation their knowledge can be shared with others without getting paid. Eventually, advantages can be achieved by multiple masses. On the contrary, few prisoners can be dangerous for the outsiders and permitting them for community work could have unfavourable results. Rapists and killers are the apparent examples as it is not possible to understand their thinking styles, aggression level and reaction in public places. Therefore, allowing them could result as a huge mistake and force them to serve the punishment behind bars. Overall, it appears to me that community work will undoubtedly change their lives for the long run nevertheless before permitting them backgrounds should be checked and decisive decisions should be accordingly.