Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. jgkw

Nowadays, by growing rate of crimes, government concern about how to react to different forms of crimes. While locking down is one of the various approaches to deter offenders, other punishments such as probation, sentencing to pay fines and also community services has become outstanding. It is said that working in regard to community benefits is a better way and can substitute jails. I generally agree with this statement. Firstly, some offences are not that dangerous for the society and the criminal can compensate by doing a charity work. For example, if someone has done drug trafficking he can pay fines and also work in rehabilitation camps to help addicted people by joining their group sessions and trying to help them. In this case the criminal would understand the harm that he caused for the society and yet can be helpful to reduce the drawbacks of his previous behavior. In addition, prisoning cost a lot for the government and mostly the expenses of guarding the prison and feeding the inmates are provided by tax revenues, while this massive amount of money can be used in other sections, like helping the poor people to stop crimes related to poverty such as pickpocketing and shopliftings. On the other hand community services not only cost nothing for the government but also benefits it. Last but not least, in prison different criminals meet each other and after a while they can learn other types of crimes. As a consequence, after finishing their sentence they would come back to the society and start their offences again but this time as a hardened criminal. For instance, consider a person who has done a petty crime such as vandalism, if he is locked down he may be kept in a cell with a serious criminal, like bank robber. After being released the former one knows bank robbery plans and if find a chance may commit the crime. In conclusion, community services can substitute imprisonment, due to the fact that some crimes are not that dangerous and the criminal is not harmful for the society, imprisonment cost a lot for the governments and also offenders may learn other types of crimes while being locked down.