some people think car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are more effective way of doing.

It is sometimes argued that whether an international car-free day would lead to a drop of pollution level effectively or there are more efficient methods of reducing air pollution. Personally, I firmly agree the second perspective, I think increasing the cost of driving a private viechle is a more practical solution. On the one hand, there are those who argue that international-car free day is a viable solution for air pollution reduction, owing to the fact that there are numerous TV programs taking this opportunity to promote environmentally-friendly driving tips such as avoid sudden acceleration. Cities of Shanghai serve as clear example where since the car-free day in 2004, 10, 000 drivers have incorporated such driving behaviours which has led to a a 20% drop in the air pollution level particularly carbon dioxide, a well-researched pollutant. On the other hand, there are those who believe that a more viable solution to tackle this pressing issue would be making driving personal vehicles more, due to the fact that raising cost of gas or increasing road tolls leading to a drastic increase in the financial pressure on drivers. Consequently, drivers are now more willing to take public transit as a cheaper option. Studies conducted at the University of Toronto concluding that making driving 30% more expensive would result in an increase of 40% public transit rider contributing to a 25% reduction in PM2. 5 levels. In conclusion, although some people argue that international car free day is effective for the enhancement of air quality due to more environmental friendly driving habits causing a lower automobile emission rate, I strongly believe that adding more cost of private viechle driving would be a more useful method as it promotes using public transit.