advantages and disadvantages of establishing a new university

Having a large group of highly educated people is beneficial for the country they live in. They tend to make it more productive and come up with new and innovative ideas. Establishing a new university provides more people with opportunities of higher education, some suggests Brossard is an ideal location to construct it. The following essay will examine the major advantages and downsides of building a new university in my local township. One of the main disadvantages of creating a new university in my area is the lack of public transport. Universities tend to attract people from different parts of the city, and building it in such a location would be inconvenient for most students. For example, according the STL, it takes around 2 hours for someone to travel from the north shore to the south shore, whereas it would only take an hour for them to reach downtown. Another major disadvantage is the effect of a new university on the city. It is inevitable for the housing prices to rise after the establishment of a new college. While it might be good news for the property owners, it would disastrous for those who cannot afford their own houses. It might increase homelessness and poverty in the area. However, there are also many advantages of having a new university in my town. It would make higher education more accessible in my area. For example, it would lower the cost of receiving a university diploma. Usually, getting a higher education is expansive, and many people cannot afford to go to college due to the high cost. With a local university, however, it eliminates many of the expenses such as food and rent. Another major upside of a college in my city is the short commute time for local residences. According to statistics from McGill University, those who have a shorter commute time are much productive at their work than those with a longer one. Local student’s productivity would be greatly increased, whereas the ones who live further away would be dramatically decreased. In conclusion, while there are many upsides of building a new college in my area, there are also a lot of major disadvantages. Overall, the advantages do not outweigh the downsides, and establishing a new university here would be a bad idea.