Nowadays most of the companies prefer open-plan offices rather than separated rooms. 1- Why is this? 2- Is it a positive trend or negative?

In the contemporary time, in many organizations, open-space offices are preferred instead of cubicle arrangements. A comparison of significant motives for this emerging setting and its drawbacks can establish whether or open-space arrangements should be welcomed. Open-space offices are more economical as they obviate the need for some spending. Clearly more staff can be placed in a limited area when there are no walls. Also costs for ventilation and lightening will be reduced when there is only one big room instead of some separated ones. The other advantage of open-space organizations is to ease supervision. Managers do not have to check on separate rooms to see what their employees are busy with. This can improve the efficiency. However, it is understandable why the idea of working in an open-space setting receives criticism. When all staff members work next to each other it is easy to be distracted by colleagues’ conversations and telephone calls. So sometimes it is not easy to remain focused, which can negatively impact the efficiency. It is also easy to catch a disease from each other. Predictably, when the flu season hits, most colleagues will be seen sneezing and suffering from sore throat. In conclusion, it is true that removing walls or partitions between coworkers can reduce the costs and make supervisions easy, but the disadvantages such as a lack of disturbance amidst staff members and the possibility of catching contagious diseases are to be considered. I believe the positives and negatives of this working circumstance have an almost equal importance, so there are no convincing reasons for traditionally planned organizations to change.