some people believe that the best way to improve driving standards would be to make the drivers take regular road safety courses, others say the stricter punishments for bad driving would be more effective. discus both views and give your own opinion.

Enhancing driving standards and ultimately reducing traffic violations is a relevant topic, which many people have conflicting views on how to tackle it. Some argue that enforcing mandatory road safety courses on drivers is the best approach to tackle it. While others believe that imposing harsher punishments for traffic violations is a superior method. This essay agrees that harsher punishments is the valid option and will discuss both views. Those in favor of road safety courses believe that it is an excellent practice to occasionally refresh one’s memory. Moreover, the authorities can also utilize said courses and retest the drivers. Even though they have passed their driving test the first time, it has been shown that 45% of drivers scored lower when retested 10 years later. On the other hand, imposing tougher punishments can result in favorable outcomes with regards to driving standards. This may include, but not limited to, fining people more for traffic violations. Money is undoubtably one of the most valuable things people work for, thus targeting it will ensure more compliance with traffic rules. The purpose of such penalties is to transform the adverse effects of traffic violations from an abstract idea into a real one. Once this is achieved, driving standards will inevitably improve slowly but surely. In conclusion, while implementing compulsory road safety courses can attain decent results, it´s effect is most likely to be trivial. This is due to the fact that people may take them just for the sake of taking them, and not actually learn from them. In my opinion, establishing stricter rules and punishments will have a more pleasing outcome. Because this method will specifically target individuals who violate the traffic, rather than the public in general. Additionally, it will burden such individuals financially which will hopefully avert them from defying traffic rules again.