Some people think being able to communicate online is better. what are advantages and disadvantage

A section of society opines that online communication has enabled people living in different parts of the globe to keep in contact. Although this trend has quite a few benefits, it does have drawbacks as well. The primary advantage of online international communication is that it facilitates individuals living in different cultural backgrounds to exchange views and ideas. Several virtual communities, like Facebook and Twitter, which are a network of like-minded individuals, are a forum for discussion of several issues which otherwise would not be possible because of the geographical borders. Another merit of such communication technology in the modern world is that it provides a platform for international business operations. Many entrepreneurs are now able to operate in different countries without having to be physically present in that country. For example, a company headquartered in the United States of America can have its functioning bases in any part of the world with conferences and discussions being carried out over online sources. Despite these benefits, global communication has its share of drawbacks. Firstly, when many people take onto communicating online with their foreign friends, it increases the social gaps between individuals in one’s own community, at times even to the point that people do not recognise their next-door neighbour. Secondly, intercultural communication has led to the culture of a particular place being dominated by that of another. For example, in India today, most of the youngsters are greatly influenced by the customs, behaviours and lifestyles of young people in western countries. As a result, much of the tradition and values that were in practice have died out. In conclusion, although international communication has narrowed the gaps between people worldwide and enabled international trade, it has also led to splits within local communities and the negligence of local traditions and practices.