Is more government spending a silver bullet for economic recovery?

To fight against the coronavirus pandemic recession, governments across the world today are accelerating spending at an unprecedented pace to boost economic growth. In my opinion, fuelling the economy in this way is unsustainable and unaffordable since excessive government spending unavoidably induces inflation. Many individuals would argue that governments do not have to worry about deficits, because, unlike households, they can borrow money from themselves. Without taxes and borrowing, governments that use their own currencies can finance any new spending by selling bonds to their central banks. This process can continue indefinitely, and in this way, those governments can always make ends meet. Furthermore, by printing more money, some economists even suggest that deficits including health care deficits, infrastructure deficits, and education deficits can resolve critical social issues, ranging from job creation and building resilient infrastructure to fostering innovation, equality and renewable energy. Nonetheless, it is risky if governments finance the spending by money creation, not from taxes or borrowing. It is because excess government spending in that way would introduce large deficits and debts, and as a result, fuel inflation. Inflation in fact is a real tax, which clearly erodes the purchasing power of people. For instance, the easing policy of the central banks over the past decade led to the continued low interest rate environment around the world, which has caused a sustained rise of property prices. These days, owning a house has become more and more unaffordable. What is more, high housing prices make it harder for people to afford necessities for themselves and their families, which in turn exerts a negative effect on their health and well-being. In conclusion, despite it being unlikely that governments will go bankrupt, this excessive and uncontrolled money creation will lead to high inflation and continued high prices in the future. Governments will then, as always, have to strike a balance between spending, economic growth, and inflation to ensure that the standard of living will not be sacrificed.