Some people suggest that we should spend more money in building up motorways instead of improving public transportation.

Many people generally believe that the government should invest more money in road construction than public transportation. Obviously, this is completely wrong, because spending more on roads will cause traffic congestion, and using these roads will have an adverse effect on the environment. On the contrary, funding public transportation is very important. The main problem related to the use of roads instead of public systems is the increase in traffic. This is because personal transportation systems (such as cars or bicycles) take up more road space and therefore extend the total duration of the journey. For example, in many cities, each family owns at least one car. Due to the city's highway planning, traffic congestion is becoming an unsolvable problem. Therefore, the government should allocate a budget for paying more attention to public transportation. In addition, highways hinder the use of public transportation, leading to a sharp increase in pollution. In order to reduce pollution, it is necessary for the government to build a better transportation system than highways. On the other hand, public transportation is an affordable mode of transportation. Because of the lower fares, many commuters prefer to travel by bus or train. Therefore, it is essential to make public transportation more comfortable and reliable for the convenience of many passengers. Therefore, people will be less willing to buy vehicles for personal use, which can minimize their chances of debt. At the same time, if most commuters use buses or trains for daily commuting, fuel usage will be significantly reduced. This will gradually solve the air pollution problem. All in all, many people believe that a large part of the government's budget should be used to build highways, rather than to promote public use of public transportation. Obviously, due to congestion issues and its impact on the global ecosystem, this does more harm than good.