Some people see prisons as the place where criminals should be punished while some people think their primary function should be to teach them how to lead better lives What is your opinion about the main function of time spent in prison punishment or reha

Recently, the phenomenon of " some people see prisons as the place where criminals should be punished, while some people think their primary function should be to teach them how to lead better lives" and its corresponding impact has sparked a long-running dispute. Whereas many people are debating the proposition that punishing criminals might be remarkably fruitful, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a remarkable number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that the rehabilitation can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay. From the society standpoint, the primary function of prisons as teaching criminals how to lead better lives can provide the society with profound effects, which might stem from the fact that teaching criminals and the punishment are inextricably bound up. Regarding my personal experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment that discovered the effects of prisons. Thus, invaluable ramifications of both returning to normal life and the rehabilitation distinctly can be observed. Within the realm of psychology, without the slightest doubt, prisons as the place where criminals should be punished might exacerbate the already catastrophic consequences of increasing crime rates. Moreover, fundamental aspects of criminals' aims can relate to the reality that the demerits of the lack of self-esteem can pertain to spending time in prisons. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that if the downsides of prisons were correlated positively with teaching a skill, the local authorities would ultimately address motivations. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the preconceived notion of eliminating prisons. To conclude, despite several compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to support the idea that the merits of prisons as teaching criminals how to lead better lives far outweigh its downsides.