Some people say that zoos serve no useful purpose in the society. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this opinion.

A group of individuals opine that zoos are not relevant for the general public the modern world. However, I differ with this viewpoint to a large extent. My posit is elaborated further with reasons and examples. Examining my opinion, the foremost argument that I would like to put forward BEEC BEEC HIELTS that zoos educate people regarding animals. The general public, especially children, gain awareness about various wild animals like lions, tigers, bears, deer and many more that they would not otherwise see in their domestic area. Thus, they get a practical insight into the natural world. Furthermore, zoos can assist in the protection of many endangered species of animals. The creatures on the verge of extinction can be saved from poachers, if kept in wildlife sanctuaries, and their numbers can be increased through captive breeding programs. This can help in maintaining the balance of nature. Such an initiative has been taken in India, where there has been a significant increase in the number of tigers through the "Save Tiger' campaign. On the contrary, there may be some drawbacks of zoos. To begin with, animals may be a risk for people in the zoos. If wild animals come out of their cage by accident, they can cause serious harm to the zoo keepers as well as to the visitors. This may cause injuries or even death of people. To recapitulate, although there may be some demerits of zoos for the society, there are several advantages due to which zoos are vital for people. They not only educate people with regards to animals but also save animals from extinction.