causes and effects of flood

Flooding occurs when a large amount of water covers a normally dry area. Floods are the most prevalent natural disaster, second only to fire. Flooding can be caused by a variety of factors such as heavy rainfall and a lack of vegetation and yet no matter what causes a flood, it can have devastating effects on our community, particularly on humans’ life, economy and the environment. Flooding can be caused by a variety of factors, the most common of which is heavy rainfall. When there is too much rain or it comes down too quickly, there's nowhere for it to go. The quicker the water reaches the river, the more probable it is to flood. Drains and sewers discharge water straight into rivers, increasing the danger of flooding. Furthermore, a lack of vegetation can also cause flooding. Vegetation can aid in the slowing of runoff and the prevention of flooding. There is nothing to stop water from rushing off and overflowing river banks and streams when there is a dearth of vegetation. As a consequence of flooding, there is a wide range of negative impacts on humans and animal lives, the economy as well as the environment. First of all, floods interrupt the daily life functioning of the affected areas. Severe floods sometimes cause mass destruction. This is shown by the fact that a lot of people and animals lose their lives, several others are injured due to floods on a yearly basis. Besides, floods also bring a rise in diseases. This is because stagnant water attracts mosquitoes causing several serious diseases such as malaria, dengue, and more illnesses. Secondly, the whole country faces economic loss since the resources needed to rescue people and tackle this disaster demands a hefty amount. In addition, the citizens lose their houses and cars which they worked all their lives for. Finally, floods also hamper the environment. It causes soil erosion and this degrades the quality of the soil. The result of this phenomenon would be that we lose out on fertile soil. Similarly, floods also damage flora and fauna. One typical example is that they destroy crops and displace trees. The reasons for flooding are very diverse and its adverse effects on human life and the environment are extremely worrying. Therefore, some measures should be taken to minimize this problem as much as possible.