compare high school and college

Entering college can be the dream of many students in high school since people are paying more attention to education than ever before. Although both these educational systems are alike in terms of being places where knowledge is taught and recorded by teachers and students, there are several distinct differences between them that high schools students should be aware of before they enter college. The first difference between colleges and high schools is the teaching method. In high schools, teachers are not only in charge of teaching and testing students to know whether they have completed their required homework or not but also play a part in managing them. In fact, teachers in high school will contact students’ parents if students make a big mistake so as to incorporate in helping them correct their mistake and behave themselves. In contrast, in colleges, teachers’ main duty is to teach and assess the results of students’ assignments, and they do not participate much in controlling the discipline of their students. Therefore, students will find more freedom when they are in college. However, this means that students will have to be more mature to manage their life on their own and always be aware of keeping discipline; otherwise, they will ruin themselves. Another factor that creates the distinct difference between high school and college is scheduling. While in high school, hours for classes are fixed and students have no choice apart from following the schedule provided by teachers, in colleges, hours for classes are more flexible and students can choose classes whose times are suitable for them. However, this may not be as ideal as it sounds. In fact, students in colleges have to arrange and make schedules before the beginning of each semester and may be at risk of not registering for enough classes if they do not prepare carefully. Moreover, having to make schedules on their own requires students to have good time management skills in order to balance their studies and private life. Therefore, when compared to the life of students in colleges, the life of students in high schools seems to be much more comfortable. Last but not least, class size is one of the factors contributing profoundly to the significant difference between studying in high school and college. In high schools, a class includes only about thirty to forty students, whereas, in colleges, the size of a class is much bigger. Indeed, students in colleges may not know all of their classmates and sometimes even do not know the exact number of students in their classes. This leads to the fact that students in colleges tend to prefer being in small groups where they have chances to know some of their friends better, and hence, their social lives seem to be more independent of others than high school students. However, this does not mean that their social circles are small and their lives are lackluster. In fact, students in colleges usually make new friends better and create more relationships than high school students since having plenty of friends and relationships can play an important role in students’ employment after they graduate from college. In conclusion, there are several obvious differences between high schools and colleges regarding teaching method, scheduling, and size of classes, which result in the significant difference in behavior and lifestyle of students in the two systems. Students who are going to graduate from high school and enter college should try to learn time management skills as well as other social skills to well prepare themselves for their college life.