Some people say that University students should use their own money to pay for their studies, as it benefits themselves rather than the whole society. Others say that the government should help in the payment of the tuition fees. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, university tuition fees are increasing each semester which is a burden for students who wish to finish college. It is debatable these days as who should pay the tuition fees of the students. Many believed that tuition fees should be shouldered by students as this would bring an advantage in the future, however, others think that the government obliged to make university fees free for students. This essay will discuss both views and an opinion will be given. Many believed that paying own tuition fees will teach students time management and budgeting, which are important skills to get a better job in the future. Working students paying own tuition fees such as fast food crews, for instance, were able to develop time management skills by juggling working time and study time, as a result, some were promoted to a managerial position after finishing college. Moreover, paying own college fees teaches students to be financially smart in terms of budgeting money for other university necessities-foods, books and apartment rentals by making sure that all should be covered on a tight budget to survive college. Indeed, self sufficient students are equipped with essential life skills in the future. Meanwhile, others think that the government should provide financial support for students' university expenses. The main reason for this is that not all students are financially capable to pay university tuition. Because of this, government are obliged to create laws and policies that would make scholarships available to keep students to pursue college, otherwise, students might look for another means and ways like turning to criminal activities such as involving in drug transactions, prostitution and robbery to earn money for university fees. Moreover, people’s tax money should be used to implement these laws to be benefitted by students especially those who belong in a low income family. Only the government has the power to enact these laws and policies. In conclusion, there are valid reasons as to why students should take responsibility in paying for university tuition fees, and equally valid reasons to support why the government should provide financial support too. In my opinion, there should be a shared responsibility, such that the government should pay for the tution, while students take charge of other school necessities.