Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreing language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that people learn a foreign language only to travel to or work in a foreign country. But others consider that there are alternative reasons that people learn a foreign language for. Visiting a foreign country or pursuing a career in there are undoubtly reasons for learning a foreign language. Because linguistic difficulties affects the work-life and the travelling experience immensely. Today’s business world requires high qualifications from employees and one of them is the linguistic ability. Therefore, people need to be proficient in the language of that country to be productive in the workplace. Secondly, being proficient in the language of the country we are visiting is also important because it can vary the experience we get from our trips. Understanding the language means understanding the culture of the place we travel to. For example, people seem to attending language courses before they start their career overseas, also before their trips to there. On the other hand, people opt to learn a foreign language for many other reasons. Firstly, students are trying to be an expert in a language because the vast majority of the resources in internet are written in a foreign language. For illustrate, I had to learn English for my research on Artificial Intelligence to continue my work due to languages of the resources that I found online. Moreover, another reason why people prefer to learn a foreign language could be considered as personal interest. Some people tend to learn a foreign language because they want to be enlightened. For illustrate, many olderly people are attaining language courses as a hobby in my country without any goals in mind. To conclude, I believe that working and travelling purposes are the dominant aspects why people learn a foreign language. But alternative reasons exist such as education and personal interest.