The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

It has been rightly said that ''Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer". Some people believe that English is the widely spoken language around the world and soon will be one linguistic for the people around the globe. I opine that the English language has been a boon for the tourism industry, and aid to economic growth for the various countries having the tourism-based economy. This essay will shed light on the merits and demerits of the English language in the tourism industry as follows. Let us look at the beneficial factor of the one language, and one world idea of this passage. If everyone can speak one language, there would be a complete understanding between not only cultures but all people throughout the world which would promote learning the flow of information and sharing ideas. Another reason that one language would be appreciative is that it would help economic growth. Eventually, with all people talking the same linguistic, there would be fewer language barriers, which will result in better trade relations between nations, and a healthier economy. Hence, one mode of transition can enable countries to communicate significantly. Consequently, some people think that leaning on a single mode of communication can affect tourism and could be the biggest drawback for developing nations. Firstly, it is certainly challenging for tribal societies to grasp a second language while traditionally overlooking their local values to earn livings. In a particular survey of communication barrier in native tribes, the aborigines of Australia have struggled to adapt the English language for good fifty years after the arrival of Europeans. Secondly, depending on one language can impact the local language, and dialects to become extinct. Such as the Maori culture of New Zealand has never found a written proof of the Maori language in any historical manuscripts, but they kept it alive by teaching it verbally to their children. Therefore, if a community squander time to learn one language it might affect their social and cultural norms. In conclusion, while there are merits to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.