Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

While many believe that the extinction of certain species is the greatest threat to our environment, others feel that there are more pressing environmental issues. This essay discusses both perspectives and why I believe that there are more critical issues than the loss of species. There are two main reasons why people might believe that the extinction of certain plants and animals is the most serious issue. The first of these concerns the way that plants and species are interrelated and how the loss of one species can lead to the loss of other species. For instance, if coral dies many of the fish and marine life that feed off it also die. Moreover, many people note the importance of the biodiversity of the planet and point out that when a species dies this is reduced. This biodiversity is important because we are constantly finding that certain species have important applications such as in the field of medicine. However, others consider that there are more serious environmental issues. One of the reasons is that the extinction of a species can be considered a part of nature. For instance, we know that the dinosaurs died out due to naturally changing weather patterns, and life of our planet still continues. In addition, man-made problems are emerging such as Global warming that are so serious they have the potential to wipe out all life on our planet. If the earth continues to experience rising temperatures it will start to become uninhabitable even for humans. In conclusion, in my opinion both sides of this argument have their merits. However, it seems that man-made global warming is the most serious problem because it ultimately threatens to not only destroy certain species but also destroy all life on our planet including humans. Moreover, it seems that we are not taking enough steps to mitigate this catastrophic problem.